Main menu

Our People

Board of Directors

Educate Together's Board of Directors are nominated by the organisation's membership. Members can also be co-opted by the Board and ratified at the next Annual General Meeting. They all serve in a voluntary capacity. 

Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa


Diarmaid has been a member of the Educate Together Board since 2009, becoming Chairperson in 2011. He was nominated to the Board by the Dalkey School Project, where his children are pupils. Diarmaid is Managing Director of web development specialists, Fusio Ltd.

Richard Bourke

Vice Chairperson

Richard Bourke is a Barrister and Attorney by profession and has served on the Educate Together Board of Directors since 2010.

Mary O'Rourke

Former TD Mary O'Rourke is a vastly experienced legislator who has served as Tanaiste, Minister of Education, Health, Public Enterprise and Leader of the Seanad. Mary was appointed to the Educate Together Board in 2011.

John Roberts

A director of Educate Together since 2009, John Roberts, is a director of Hibernija Adriatic and Jo'Burger Ltd. A former Business Unit Director in Acer EMEA, John is committed to the development of multi-denominational education and the growth of the Educate Together network.

Simon Bradshaw

Simon Bradshaw is a Senior Market Advisor - Public Procurement at Enterprise Ireland. He has previously worked with An Post, Dell and Parking Partners. He was appointed to the Educate Together Board in 2011.

Andrea Burke-Khan

Andrea is the Assistant Principal at Griffeen Valley Educate Together National School. Nominated by her school, she joined the Board in 2009.

Joanne Galvin

Joanne is a founder parent and former Chairperson of Waterford Educate Together National School. She has been actively involved in Educate Together's campaign for second-level schools. She was elected by the members to the Board of Directors at the 2012 AGM. 

Paddie Murphy

Paddie is a former principal of Rathfarnham Educate Together N.S. and currently serves on the Board of Management of Griffith Barracks Multi-denominational School. She is one of the four authors of the Learn Together Programme. Paddie joined the Educate Together Board of Directors in 2009.

Ferdinand Von Prondzynski

The former President of Dublin City University joined the Educate Together Board in 2011. Currently Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Robert Gordon University Aberdeen, Ferdinand is a passionate advocate of innovation in education.

Maurice Hurley

Maurice Hurley is the Principal of Tyrrelstown ETNS in Dublin. He wide experience as a parent, teacher and principal. He is currently completing the first post-graduate certificate in ethical education in St. Patrick’s College and looks forward to the rapid expansion of inclusive democratic and learner-centred schools throughout Ireland and beyond.

Address: 11 - 12 Hogan Place, Dublin 2, Ireland - Charity Number: CHY 11816