ICT Education Expert Joins Second-level Advisory Panel

The second-level team at Educate Together is delighted to welcome Dr Conor Galvin onto its Advisory Panel. Dr Galvin is a Lecturer and Researcher at UCD College of Human Sciences School of Education, where he works on various education, ICT, public policy and development practice programmes. His research interests include the politics of professionalism, teachers’ professional knowledge, innovation in an information age, e-learning, schools’ ICT and the impact of new and emergent technology on learning and society.

Dr Galvin was was a member of the Minister for Education’s Strategy Group on Education ICT (Ireland) from 2007 to 2008. He led the evaluation of the Diageo Liberties Learning Initiative, Dublin, was external evaluator on the EU-funded DigEuLit project and completed a full research evaluation of the CONNECT School project, Ireland. He has also been an Assessor on a number of EU actions relating to the Information Society – most recently on eLearning and MINERVA – and has been National Delegate (Ireland) to an OECD summit on the Information Society & Education.

Since December 2005 Dr Galvin been an Associate at Teachers TV, a London-based media company with a strong and growing presence in the area of new-technology led teacher education and development. In January 2009, he joined the Scientific Board of the Share.Tec Project – a major, EU-funded digital repository project. He is Education Adviser to Action Lesotho, Ireland, and to the Global E-Schools and Communities Initiative (GESCI) – a UN sponsored agency working out of Ireland since 1995.

With Dr. Brendan Tangney, from the Centre for IT and Learning in Trinity already an active Panel member, the addition of Dr Galvin will further enhance the ICT in education expertise available to the Second-level Project.

Anne Molloy, Human Rights Education Manager with Amnesty International Ireland, has recently replaced Ruth Gallagher as Amnesty's representative on the Advisory Panel.

Full list of Advisory Panel Members – January 2011