Educate Together To Apply For Four Second-Level Schools To Open in 2019

Educate Together welcomes Minister Richard Bruton’s invitation to patrons to apply for four new second-level schools to open in 2019 and announces its intention to apply for all four schools. The schools will be based in 

  • Donaghmede/Howth/Dublin 13 (Belmayne/Clongriffin area);
  • Galway City & Oranmore (Regional Solution);
  • Laytown & Drogheda (Regional Solution);
  • Wicklow

Once the deadline for patrons to apply to run these schools has passed on Friday 13 June, the Department of Education and Skills (DES) will open an Online Patronage Process System (OPPS) to ascertain parental preference in each area. Educate Together will work together with local advocates to raise awareness of this new process and encourage families that want an Educate Together second-level school in their area to register their support. 

Said Paul Rowe, CEO of Educate Together: 

‘We have established that Educate Together has strong support in each of these areas and we’re looking forward to working with local campaigners to bring the Educate Together second-level ethical education ethos to North Dublin, Galway, Louth/Meath and Wicklow.’ 

Said Sandra Adams, a parent and campaigner for a second-level Educate Together school in the Belmayne/Clongriffin area:

'An Educate Together second level school in Dublin 13 would give parents greater choice in how their children complete their secondary education. Everyday life is a about more than having a religion or none. Educate Together schooling offers children the opportunity to learn and grow without feeling isolated or different. It respects all experience and reflects the diversity of our families, communities and society.'

Educate Together provides a new type of second-level school, one that places the student at its centre. It aims to create a vibrant, welcoming school community to which every student feels a real sense of belonging. Using student-centred teaching, learning and assessment methods, Educate Together second-level schools support students’ social, emotional and academic development and wellbeing.

The organisation currently operates nine second-level schools and will open four new second-levels this September. These are: Firhouse Educate Together Secondary School (ETSS); Malahide/Portmarnock ETSS; Dublin South City ETSS and Limerick ETSS. 

Sign up to support our campaigns for

  • Donaghmede/Howth/Dublin 13 (Belmayne/Clongriffin area) here
  • Galway here
  • Laytown & Drogheda here
  • Wicklow here